We're Live Bangla Sunday, October 17, 2021

Tourists from India to now pay Rs. 1,000 in Bhutan as development tax

Tourists from India, Bangladesh and Maldives will have to pay Rs. 1,000 in Bhutan, news reports from the neighbour said on Thursday. The fee has been imposed following instances of some travelers causing certain law and order problems as well as being disrespectful of local customs and traditions.

The Himalayan kingdom is keen to stem the flow of tourists from India and other countries in South Asia.

At present, tourists from the three countries do not have to pay visa or any entry fee to cross into Bhutan while those from other countries pay $250 as a minimum charge per day which includes a $65 sustainable development fee.

Bhutan’s plan to implement the fee was discussed during a visit by the country’s foreign minister Tandi Dorji to India in November.