We're Live Bangla Monday, March 27, 2023



The Office of National Security Council (ONSC) on Saturday said that 46 Afghan civilians were killed and 93 others were wounded in Taliban violence in 23 provinces of the country in the past week.

ONSC said that the majority of the civilian casualties were reported in Ghor, Badghis and Helmand provinces.

But, the ONSC has not provided any details about how many civilians have been killed during this period as a result of government forces’ attacks and operations.

The Taliban launched attacks on Baharak district of Takhar and Keran Wa Manjan district of Badakhshan province in northern Afghanistan.

The Taliban also launched an attack in the Kalakan district in Kabul on the Kabul-Parwan highway, which resulted in the killing of the Kapisa police administrative officer and one other police officer, and wounding the deputy police commander of Kapisa and one other.

“They (Taliban) are an ideological group and will not bring change in their program, also they can't terminate their ties with the foreigners who are serving in their ranks,” said Mirza Mohammad Yarmand, a military expert in Kabul.

The ONSC said that 433 Taliban fighters were killed in the recent spate of violence. But the Taliban has not commented.

“Najibullah Safi, the deputy commander of Kapisa police headquarters and Haseebullah; an IT engineer, were martyred,” said Shaqayeq Shoresh, a spokesman for the Kapisa Police HQ.

“They staged an attack on Baharak district and some other areas in Abdal area of Taluqan city, but they were countet-attacked with full force by the Afghan security forces. The firefight left at least 12 armed opponents dead, including several of their key commanders,” said Mohammad Jawad Hejfi, a spokesman for Takhar's governor.

“Manjan (Kera wa Manjan district) is no longer controlled by government forces, the Taliban are trying to takeover the entire district to get access to Takhar and Panjshir provinces and also to lazuli mines which exist in this area,” said Abdullah Naji Nazari, a member of Badakhshan's provincial council.