We're Live Bangla Sunday, June 26, 2022



The 10 independent groups that left the Government when Mahinda Rajapaksa was Prime Minister, have decided to support the new Government to address the current crisis.

The decision was taken following talks with Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe today.

Wickremesinghe had yesterday written to former Minister Udaya Gammanpila, who is part of the 10 independent groups, seeking his support.

In a letter to Gammanpila, the Prime Minister said that the call from the public is for a system change.

He said that all political parties must come together to help the country recover from its current crisis.

The Prime Minister urged Gammanpila and his political party to support the Government revive the economy and also ensure political stability.

The 10 independent political parties had decided last week not to join the Government.

However, they said they will support the Government in any positive steps it takes.

Former Minister Wimal Weerawansa said last week that the 10 independent political parties will not join the Government as a result of the appointment of Ranil Wickremesinghe as Prime Minister.